Lavapies

Lavapiés is a traditional, cosmopolitan and multicultural neighborhood, synonymous with color, life and culture.

Humble neighborhood formed in the sixteenth century,its abandonment and deterioration made it from being a quiet area mainly inhabited by older people, to being the area of the capital with the highest percentage of occupied houses and shelter from people with limited economic resources: what eventually gave it the look dirty, decadent and insecure that the neighborhood has presented until recently.

In the process of gentrification, Lavapiés is a place to visit and to know before it is late and leaves behind its characteristic atmosphere.

Lavapies
A woman in typical Indian clothing walks around Lavapiés.

Today and thanks to the efforts of many neighbors and traders who have undertaken renovations and rehabilitations,the neighborhood has become a very pleasant place to walk, eat or go shopping. A facelift that has managed to transform that careless and decadent aspect into an area with a certain charm.

Things are changing and in recent years Lavapiés has seen its image improve from being a slum to becoming a benchmark of cosmopolitanism and multiculturalism

Lavapiés is the area of Madrid with the largest number of squares and self-managed social centers. It is the ward in which the first experiences of occupation of the capital. Collectives, associations and neighbors of the neighborhood, manage in autonomy several premises where locals and foreigners come to meet, learn, teach or share experiences and knowledge. Despite the rapid and serious process of real estate speculation that threatens to make the neighborhood disappear as we know it, and the police repression because of the movement occupies,the neighborhood, its associative and political activity resist.

Lavapies
People from all corners of the planet live in Lavapiés.

More and more middle-class Spaniards are moving there attracted by the rich social universe, by homes at more reasonable prices than in other neighborhoods. for its cultural and gastronomic offer.

Walking through Lavapiés is walking through a miniature world. Its narrow alleys, its orography, its facades, its traditional commerce and above all the simplicity of its people are its hallmarks. Lavapiés is a united neighborhood where the social fabric is more alive than ever: several of the most unusual proposals in Madrid (of which we speak here) are found here: This is a square or the Tobacco.

 

Lavapies
Up the street and down the street in Lavapiés

 

Here we find The Reina Sofia Museum,ancient Madrid buildings – corralas – Indian restaurants, century-old establishments, African craft workshops, Asian food shops, tapas bars, traditional commerce, Turkish food and Arab leather goods It is the Lavapiés universe The neighborhood has the largest concentration of curious bookstores, alternative theaters and art galleries in the city.. It is also home to large cultural containers such as: The National Drama Center, the fabulous and old National Film library or the interesting Casa Encendida.

 

Lavapies
Two people chat on a corner of a lavapiés street

 

It is also home to large cultural containers such as: The National Drama Center, the fabulous and old National Film library or the interesting Casa Encendida.

 

Tapas, wines and beers:

Some call it “The Boardwalk of Lavapies”. Argumosa Street is absolutely full of bars and restaurants with their respective terraces. Mainly Spanish food, tapas and place of beer, it is not difficult to find room at mealtime although you will definitely be lucky if you make a hole in an afternoon of spring or summer.

 

Lavapies
Argumosa Street with its bars and terraces

 

The Street of Art:

Next to the Reina Sofia museum we find Dr Fourquet Street, the street with the most art galleries per square meter in all of Spain. A street of only 500 meters with no less than 17 galleries especially dedicated to art and contemporary creation. From some of the country’s most important galleries to newly installed young gallerists, they even coordinate to present collective exhibitions. Dynamism, freshness and culture in which many already call, the street of art.

 

Tobacco & self-managed social centres

Lavapiés is one of the most cohesive and supportive neighborhoods. This is a sign that most of the self-managed social centres are located here. An ancient tobacco factory converted into a cultural center, an old plot converted by the neighbors into a garden and an orchard, an old branch of a bank that is now a social club… Much more in our article on Madrid Insólito.

 

alternative madrid

Corralas:

Corralas are traditional Buildings of Madrid, arranged around a central courtyard. . It seems that his nearest antecession would be the houses with the courtyard of the Arabs. Most of the remaining 400 are located in Lavapiés,where some of them are now partially visible.

lavapies corrala
A corrala converted into a theatre (Alcalá de Henares)

 

Urban Art

Next to Malasaña, Lavapiés is the cradle of Madrid street art.. Great artists and small artists decorate murals and entire streets.

Lavapiés’s corners, corners and squares hide works of art worthy of the best of contemporary museums.

Lavapies

Parties

Between August 5th and 16th each year,Lavapiés and La Latina dress up as a party. The first party – in honor of San Cayetano + begins on August 5 and has as its nerve center the Plaza de Cascorro (where the trail is usually made). The feast of San Lorenzo in the Plaza de Lavapiés follows and then concludes with the festivities of La Paloma in the neighborhood of La Latina.

 

Footwashing dresses up for the San Cayetano festivities

 

12 days of partying and entertainment. If you are in Madrid we recommend that you do not miss them because there are not only endless activities and concerts but it will also be a perfect way to soak away from the festive culture of Madrid.

Markets

The San Fernando market is an example of this neighborhood merger Formerly a market to use, the market has progressively been transformed into place of leisure and culture, among the fish markets and butchers we find tapas bars, craft shops or even a curious bookstore that sells books by weight.

Old casquería: Today bookstore at weight.

 

Its people:

If we had to describe the, inhabitants of Lavapiés with one word,that would be simplicity. People from all the countries of the world live with Madridns of all their lives in harmony.

If you have read or heard somewhere that Lavapiés is an unsafe area, ignore it. It’s been a while since Lavapiés is what it was. You will enjoy your visit, we will enter the Madrid of Madrid and discover a beautiful neighborhood that certainly deserves to be visited.

Comments are closed.

lavapies

Lavapiés est un quartier traditionnel, cosmopolite et multiculturel, aujourd’hui synonyme de couleur, de vie et de culture.

Quartier modeste datant du XVIe siècle, son abandon et sa détérioration l’ont fait passer d’une zone tranquille habitée majoritairement par des personnes âgées, à la zone de la capitale au pourcentage le plus élevé de maisons occupées et à la population ayant des ressources économiques faibles: ce qui lui a donné un environnement sale, décadent et insécurisant jusqu’à il y a peu.

Lavapiés est l’endroit à visiter si vous voulez vous fondre dans la ville et connaître le quotidien de ses habitants.

Lavapies
Une femme habillée avec un costume traditionnel indien se promène dans Lavapiés

Aujourd’hui, grâce aux efforts de ses habitants et de ses commerçants qui ont entrepris des rénovations, le quartier est devenu un endroit très agréable pour se balader, manger ou faire du shopping. Ce changement de visage a réussi à transformer l’aspect négligé et décadent du quartier en une zone pleine de charme.

Les choses étant en pleine évolution et, au cours de ces dernières années, Lavapiés a vu son image s’améliorer, passant d’un quartier marginal à une référence pour le cosmopolitisme et le multiculturalisme.

Lavapiés a certainement été la partie de Madrid avec la plus grande densité de logements et centres sociaux squattés dans lesquels eurent lieu les toutes premières expériences d’occupation de la capitale. De nos jours, la spéculation immobilière et la répression policière ont quasiment eu raison du mouvement squat, mais le quartier continue à être celui qui possède l’activité associative et politique la plus dynamique, mêlée à une vie de quartier des plus denses.

lavapies
De gens venus de partout dans le monde habitent à Lavapies

De plus en plus d’espagnols de la classe moyenne s’y installent, attirés par l’univers social riche et par le logement au loyer plus raisonnable que dans les autres quartiers.

Se promener dans Lavapiés, c’est traverser un monde en miniature. Ses rues étroites, son orographie, ses façades, son commerce traditionnel et surtout la simplicité de ses habitants sont ses maîtres mots. Lavapiés est un quartier uni dans lequel le tissu social est plus vivant que jamais: plusieurs des choses les plus insolites de Madrid (dont nous parlons ici) sont ici.

 

lavapies
Des montées et des descentes à Lavapiés

 

On y trouve le musée Reina Sofía, des anciennes constructions madrilènes – corralas – des restaurants indiens, des établissements centenaires, des ateliers d’artisanat africain, des bars à tapas, du commerce traditionnel, de la cuisine turque ou de la maroquinerie arabe. C’est l’univers Lavapiés. Le quartier a la plus grande concentration de librairies originales, de théâtres alternatifs et de galeries d’art de la ville. Il abrite également de grands espaces culturels tels que: le Centro Dramático Nacional, la magnifique et antique Filmoteca Nacional ou la subjugante Casa Encendida.

 

lavapies
Deux personnes discutent tranquillement dans un coin de Lavapies

 

Lavapiés: du quartier pauvre au quartier cool.

 

Tapas, vins et bières:

Certains l’appellent “Le front de mer de Lavapies“. La rue Argumosa est bondée de bars et de restaurants avec leurs terrasses respectives. Proposant principalement des plats espagnols, des tapas et des bières, il est assez facile de trouver une place à l’heure du déjeuner, mais il s’agira de chance si vous réussissez à avoir une table en fin de journée au printemps ou en été.

 

lavapies
La rue Argumosa avec ses bars et terrasses

 

La rue de l’art:

À côté du musée Reina Sofia, se trouve la rue Dr Fourquet, la rue qui compte le plus grand nombre de galeries d’art par mètre carré en Espagne. Une rue de seulement 500 mètres avec pas moins de 17 galeries dédiées à l’art et aux créations contemporaines. Des galeries les plus importantes du pays aux plus petites galeries récemment installées, toutes se mobilisent pour présenter des expositions collectives. Dynamisme, fraîcheur et culture qualifient cette rue, que beaucoup surnomment “la rue de l’art”.

 

Tabacalera (l’usine à tabac) et les centres sociaux autogérés

Lavapiés est l’un des quartiers les plus cohésifs et les plus solidaires. Preuve en est que la majorité des centres sociaux sont ici autogérés. Une ancienne usine de tabac reconvertie en centre culturel, une ancienne parcelle convertie par le voisinage en un jardin avec un verger, une ancienne succursale d’une banque qui est maintenant un club social … Et bien plus dans notre article sur Madrid Insolite.

 

madrid insolite

Corralas:

Les corralas sont des bâtiments traditionnels madrilènes, disposés autour d’un patio central. Ses prédécesseurs étaient les maisons arabes avec patio. La plupart des 400 restants se trouvent à Lavapiés, où certains d’entre eux sont partiellement visibles.

lavapies corrala
Une corrala devenue un theatre

 

Street Art

A part Malasaña, Lavapiés est le berceau du street art madrilène. Grands et petits artistes ont habillé de peinture des murs et des rues entières. Les coins, recoins et les places de Lavapiés cachent des œuvres d’art dignes des meilleurs musées contemporains.

lavapies

Fêtes

Entre le 5 et le 16 août de chaque année, Lavapiés et La Latina sont en fête. La première fête – en l’honneur de San Cayetano – démarre le 5 août et a pour coeur la Plaza de Cascorro (là ou le Rastro se passe). Elle est suivie par la fête de San Lorenzo à la Plaza de Lavapiés pour conclure avec les fêtes de La Paloma dans le quartier de La Latina.

 

Lavapiés s’habille pour les fêtes de San Cayetano

 

12 jours de fête et d’animations! Si vous êtes à Madrid à cette période, un conseil: allez-y ! Car en plus des nombreuses activités et des concerts indénombrables, c’est aussi le moyen idéal pour s’imprégner de la culture festive des madrilènes.

Marchés

Le marché de San Fernando est un exemple de la fusion du quartier. Ancien marché traditionnel, le marché s’est progressivement transformé en un lieu de loisirs et de culture. Parmi les poissonniers et les boucheries, on trouve des bars à tapas, des boutiques d’artisanat ou même une librairie originale qui vend des livres au poids.

Des livres au poids !

 

Habitants:

Si nous devions définir les habitants de Lavapiés en un mot, ce serait simplicité. Des gens venant de tous les pays du monde cohabitent avec des madrilènes de pure souche en harmonie.

Si vous avez lu ou entendu quelque part que Lavapiés est une zone d’insécurité, n’écoutez pas. Cela fait bien longtemps que Lavapiés n’est plus ce qu’il était! Vous profiterez de votre visite, vous vous immergerez dans le Madrid des madrilènes et découvrirez un beau quartier qui mérite d’être visité.

Lavapiés
4.8 (96.92%) 26 votes

Comments are closed.